REGULAR SESSION 1999

MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Walls, Frazier, Blackmon, Moffatt, Farris, Woodfield, Smith, Gordon, Carlton, Nunnelee, Simmons, White (29th), Scoper, Johnson (19th), Gollott, Cuevas, Carter, Lee, Bean, Turner, Hewes, Tollison, Hawks, Ross, Bryan, White (5th), Harvey, Harden, Burton, Browning, Thames, Little, Mettetal, Horhn, Jackson, Huggins, Minor, Hamilton, Canon, Ferris, Jordan (24th), Jordan (18th)

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 659 (As Adopted by House and Senate)

- A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING AND CONGRATULATING THE MEMBERS OF THE MISSISSIPPI ALL-STAR GIRLS AND BOYS BASKETBALL TEAMS AND THEIR COACHES ANNA JACKSON AND ISAIAH PETERSON.
- 4 WHEREAS, the Mississippi All-Star Girls Basketball Team and
- 5 the Mississippi All-Star Boys Basketball Team will represent the
- 6 state in this summer's renewal of the prep basketball rivalry with
- 7 the State of Alabama, sponsored by the Mississippi Association of
- 8 Coaches; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the two squads will meet Alabama's best at Florence,
- 10 Alabama, on Saturday, June 12, 1999; and
- 11 WHEREAS, unanimous and consensus picks by the committee of
- 12 coaches for the two teams are as follows:

13	MISSISSIPPI	GIRLS
± 5	HITOOTOOTEET	GTITD

14	PLAYER	HEIGHT	SCHOOL
15	Catrina Frierson	6-1	Vicksburg
16	Kesha Tardy	6-0	Jackson-Murrah
17	LaToya Thomas	6-3	Greenville
18	Meg Banathan	5-11	Oxford
19	Tamika Rogers	5-10	Jackson-Murrah
20	Angela Bullock	5-9	Williams-Sullivan
21	Keisha Stringfellow	5-9	Clinton
22	Johnita Conrad	5-7	Choctaw Central
23	Erica Thompson	6-2	Stone County
24	Amie Williams	6-6	Cleveland-East Side
25	Keela Ball	6-8	Pontotoc
26	Jessica Puchen	5-7	Hancock

28

MISSISSIPPI BOYS

20	NI DO	ISSIPPI DOIS		
29	PLAYER	HEIGHT	SCHOOL	
30	Jonathan Bender	6-11	Picayune	
31	Dennis Buse	6-1	Tupelo	
32	Kelvin Butler	6-2	Shelby-Broad Street	
33	James Denson	6-2	Choctaw Central	
34	Ronald Dupree	6-7	Biloxi	
35	John Gunn	6-11	Oxford	
36	Leroy Hurd	6-8	Moss Point	
37	Aaron Harper	6-5	Jackson-Provine	
38	Dennis Isom	6-5	Byhalia	
39	Alonza Lane	6-6	Canton	
40	Trey Sanders	6-6	Jackson-Jim Hill	
41	Lincoln Smith	6-10	Hollandale-Simmons;	
42	and			
43	WHEREAS, the girls' team will be blessed with continuity at			
44	the top as 16-year Jackson-Murrah Head Coach Anna Jackson will			
45	lead the Mississippians into battle, assisted by Coach Gary Miller			
46	from Clinton and Gina Skelton from Forest; and			
47	WHEREAS, the boys' team will be led by 30-year Shelby-Broad			
48	Street Head Coach Isaiah Peterson, assisted by Coach Lewis Love,			
49	Jr., from Canton and Geary Jackson from Meridian, and the			
50	challenge of all coaches will be to quickly mold these superlative			
51	players into a team when their first workouts begin in April; and			
52	WHEREAS, it is with grea	t pride that we	e recognize	
53	Mississippi's best basketball players, who have brought honor to			
54	their school, their community and to the State of Mississippi:			
55	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF			
56	MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That			
57	we do hereby recognize and congratulate the members of the Girls			
58	and Boys Mississippi All-Star Basketball Teams and their Coaches			
59	Anna Jackson and Isaiah Peterson, and extend to them the best			
60	wishes of the Legislature as they prepare to meet the Alabama			
61	All-Star Teams in games this summer.			
62	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be			
63	presented to the members of the Mississippi All-Star Teams and			

- 64 Coaches, and to representatives of the Mississippi Association of
- 65 Coaches, and be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.